Perfect or good enough

Who is this guy?

We’ve talked before about imposter syndrome. It’s one of the things that can hold you back as a writer – the feeling that you are faking it somehow. Similar, but not quite the same, is the drive to be perfect. There’s probably a fair amount of overlap.

One of the things I have been wrestling with lately is the balance between driving towards perfection and realising that “good enough” is a far better start than no start at all.

It is quite unlikely that anyone will create a perfect first draft and I know I would benefit from reminding myself that just getting a first draft written – even if it is terrible – is a huge achievement.

I’ve blogged about that just recently.

Read: What’s so great about perfection, anyway?

Do you let perfection stand in the way of getting started? I know I do sometimes. Tell us about it in the comments below.

Leave a comment